Wiess School of Natural Sciences
#sliderCaption1 #sliderCaption2 #sliderCaption3 #sliderCaption4 #sliderCaption5 #sliderCaption6 #sliderCaption7 #sliderCaption8 #sliderCaption9 #sliderCaption10 #sliderCaption11 #sliderCaption12 #sliderCaption13 #sliderCaption14
Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Earth Science
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Physics & Astronomy

Ken Kennedy Institute Lecture: Eszter Hargittai, Professor, Institute of Mass Communication and Media Research, University of Zurich

Lecture/Lecture Series

Ken Kennedy Institute for Information Technology

By: Eszter Hargittai
Professor, Institute of Mass Communication and Media Research at the University of Zurich
When: Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Where: Duncan Hall
McMurtry Auditorium
Abstract: SAVE THE DATE! Time TBA
Eszter Hargittai
Eszter Hargittai is Professor in the Institute of Mass Communication and Media Research at the University of Zurich where she heads the Media Use and Society division continuing to direct the "Web Use Project". She is also Fellow of the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University.

Hargittai's research focuses on the social and policy implications of digital media with a particular interest in how differences in people's Web-use skills influence what they do online. Her work has received awards from the American Sociological Association, the Eastern Sociological Society, the International Communication Association, the National Communication Association and the Telecommunications Policy Research Conference. In 2010, the International Communication Association selected her to receive its Outstanding Young Scholar Award.

In addition to her academic articles, her work has also been featured in numerous popular media outlets including the New York Times, BBC, CNNfn, USA Today, the Chicago Tribune, the Washington Post and many others. Her work has been supported by the National Science Foundation, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Sloan Foundation, the Markle Foundation, the Dan David Foundation, the Russell Sage Foundation, Nokia, Google, and Facebook, among others.